The Sephora Edit

There is so much stuff at Sephora it can be overwhelming. Since getting to Rouge I’ve been getting a lot of questions about what to buy there, particularly from people who have never shopped at Sephora before. Odds are if you have made a black bag purchase you’re a devotee. Sephora make-up is high end and expensive. Everyone has their own favorite stand, be it NARS, Kat Von D, or BECCA but mostly shoppers mix the best products from each brand. Generally, mascara, fragrance, and lipstick are where friends have noticed the biggest difference in quality over drugstore brands and this is a great place to start shopping. YSL lipsticks are current blogger favs while I come from a Kat Von D or bust family. It’s all about moisture and staying power. Eyeshadow can also have a major difference and when ti comes to texture Tarte has the softest Amazonian clay shadows ever. Most people are looking for color payoff and MAC and Limecrime (neither sold at Sephora) are two biggies in that category. Make-up forever & LORAC, are blogger favs and Urban Decay holds color really well.

We all rock the high-low trend in our wardrobe and the idea extends nicely to make-up. Foundation can be really important, and YSL has some GOOD ones, but these are bloody expen$ive, and I’ve never been able to commit. I buy foundation and bronzer at the drug store for cost and because I don’t wear much of either and therefore throw more away at expiry (if you’re wondering why you’re breaking out it can be expired make-up). I’m obsessed with Smashbox lid primer because it also gets rid of redness, Urban Decay lid primers are also super popular. (I was obsessed with Soap and Glory under-eye but they seem to have discontinued it RAGE – bring it back please! I really liked how watery it was. YSL touche eclat is excellent but $$$).

MAC is still my favorite eyeliner (not sold at Sephora) but for liquid I’ve been slowly learning how to use Kat Von D’s which has a supper fine point like a marker. I can’t do a cat eye to save my shoes but the makeup is good.

Samplers and Pallettes

I go back and forth on palettes, they’re very expensive and it is easy to collect them but difficult to use them up before they expire. (The rule is 2 years on eyeshadow, I usually keep them for a maximum of 4. I clean my eyeshadow and lipstick occasionally and vigorously cut them down a bit after they’ve “expired” but there’s no way I’m tossing a YSL lipstick after one year LMFAO. Some of these expiry dates reflect a change in consistency not an overdose of germs but be wary of rashes, bumps, etc). If you love a variety of colors palettes can be a great way to collect and travel. Use clean brushes to try and cut down on some bacteria. I have the Santigold Smashbox (currently on sale) mini pallet and the Urban Decay Vice pallet and this is all the eyeshadow I will need for the year.

Sephora gift sets tend to be expensive and I always compare the sample size to the original before I buy. Sometimes there is next to NO product in them and that stinks but sometimes they give you enough to last a year – turns out we don’t need a tube of lipstick to be the length of our pinkies! The Gimme Some Lip set was fantastic and Vintage or Tacky (YT) reviewed the Gimme Some More Lip set and I want it but shall refrain (self-Control, self-Control, self-c…lipstick!), most perfume sets come with a voucher for a free perfume which makes the price so much better. Christmas is the best time to buy these things (they come out in December).

Whenever I get my hands on a popular item I’ll review it here as #youtubebeautytruth 🙂

Leave a Reply

